top of page

My top 10 tips for traveling alone (internationally)


While it’s great to travel with friends and family, my reality is that often I’m traveling alone. No need for a pity-party. I get travel to wonderful places. But it’s different experiencing a place on your own – and so, I’ve developed some ways to appreciate it and enjoy it—and sometimes just deal with it. Here are my top 10 tips for traveling alone (internationally).

1. Bring a touchstone. A candle. A small trinket. A pebble from your driveway. A piece of a blanket. An envelope with your dog’s fur. Something small and physical that reminds you of home, in a small way—but won’t make you too homesick. I always bring a candle with me, something that I’ve used at home. As soon as I light it in my new place, I relax a bit.

2. Take yourself on an artist’s date. Inspiration for this idea goes to Julia Cameron and her amazing book, The Artist’s Way. In The Artists Way, Julia suggests doing something, as your inner artist. My idea takes that a little further. If you’re nervous or awkward traveling alone, then imagine yourself as someone else! (Just in your head. I'm not suggesting you live-catfish anyone!) Walk the streets. Go to a park. Do whatever. But look at the world as if you run a local business, or you're a barista on her way to work, or an artist filled with creativity and artistic vision. Sometimes we just need to get out of our own heads and listen to an inner voice that sees the world differently.

3. Don't just touch your toe to the water-- jump in! Push yourself to do the thing you fear the most, first. Go for a meal alone. Take the subway alone. Make a purchase with unfamiliar currency, alone. Just one thing on that first day. You don’t have to do everything on day one. You will be so proud of yourself, it will make the rest of it look easy.

4. Blend in. One great part about traveling alone is that it's much easier to blend in and NOT look like a tourist, which can open up new experiences that often don't happen when you're traveling with others. Before you venture out for the day, make an effort to dress how the locals dress. Eat breakfast the way the locals do. Research a destination and start walking with determination and purpose. Other people will be asking YOU for directions before you know it.

5. Copy all important documents before you leave home. One reality of traveling alone is that if something goes wrong—and let’s be honest, it’s gonna happen—there’s no one to turn to and complain or cry. Protect yourself against one of the most likely negatives; you’ll lose something. If you have to replace a passport or credit card, it’s a lot easier to do if you have a paper copy. Yes, paper. What if you can’t find someplace to print out the photo in your phone? What if you lose your phone?

6. Revel in your opinions. Unlike traveling with others, where you have to spend more or less time at the museum than you’d like, or go to this or that restaurant, when traveling alone, it’s all about YOU. If you walk in the museum, spend 10 minutes there, and hate it. Leave. Who will know? If you want to eat something decadent for breakfast? Have at it. Traveling alone is an opportunity to get back in touch with YOU and what you like. Just you. No judgment.

7. Nest. I stay in lots of different types of hotels and apartments when I travel. Some are big, some small, some lovely, some not so lovely. But wherever I am, I have a certain way that I arrange my stuff: my makeup on the counter, my clothes, or my papers. These are tiny similarities from place to place, but they help anchor me and bring ME to the place; the way I like my place to be.

8. Bring single-package granola bars from home. Or whatever small, individually wrapped food you like. When traveling alone, it’s easy to push off eating. You might not find a place that’s exactly what you want at that moment, or affordable, but you’re hungry. Having a granola bar in my pocket has saved me many a time.

9. Let yourself off the hook. It takes a different kind of energy to travel alone. You have to motivate yourself to do, well, everything. It can be mentally exhausting. If you just feel like hanging in one night, or one afternoon to watch Netflix, do it. You don’t have to fill every day and night with Instagram-able moments.

10. Acknowledge- and then enjoy-- the discomfort. Discomfort means you’re challenging yourself. And that’s good. That’s how we grow. There will definitely be moments when you wish you had a pal by your side. Try not to let the lack of comfort stop you from experiencing something wonderful and new. If you can get comfortable with discomfort, you’ll open up lots of possibilities.

I know I'm going to think of 5 other tips the minute I publish this, so I'm already acknowledging this will probably be updated at least once!

Happy traveling.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page