top of page

When I think of media... (a rhyme for our time)


Inspired by Dr. Seuss, Shel Silverstein, Free To Be You And Me, and my Dad, I've written a poem. A poem for media. I hope you like it. You can click on the video to hear me recite it. If it makes you smile and you'd like a print copy, please send me an email directly for a PDF.

When I think of media

When I think of media

I think of fun

of TV and music and video games won

When I think of media

I think of me

of selfies and videos-- don’t you agree?

When I think of media

I think of time

The hours spend staring, the minutes that I’m

Gazing and tapping and creating posts

Editing photos I don’t like the most

When I think of media

I think, who cares?

Who’s counting the likes or the tweets or the shares?

Yet sometimes I’m caught up

In how others see

The way I look online, the image of me

In real life I’m different

Better, I hope

Than the photoshopped face under your microscope

So, I try to resist that magical pull

That media has to make me feel so full

Of myself, of my needs, of that smartphone I hold

Is technology freedom, or am I controlled?

I need to examine the way that I feel

When I’m so connected I may miss a meal

When the lure of all episodes watched back-to-back

Means I’m not much more than an insomniac!

When getting a high score or accessing levels

Leaves the house all a mess and my hair quite disheveled.

When downloading songs and chatting online

Means I’ve missed the sunshine and mountains to climb

Now, don’t get me wrong, I love all of it too

A day filled with movies, and skyping my crew

I love how my GPS finds me a way

And finding out what top celebrities say

I ‘m still quite amazed

At a search engine’s skill

How do they know what I mean? It’s just a thrill.

I work on a laptop, read only e-books

Text notes as reminders, “pin” favorite cookbooks

I download and tweet, I post and I save

I record and delete, and find more that I crave

When I think of media

I think of it all

From the tiniest file, to a digital haul.

I try to reflect on the who, what, and where

I balance my screen time, I’m sure to take care

Of time that I’m spending eyes locked on a screen

So I can squeeze time with you right in between


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page